A black and white photograph of historical firefighters

History Commission

History Commission LogoHistory of Fire Services and CTIF,  Museums and Documentation

Für die Version in Deutsch, klicken Sie hier

Chair/Moderator: Gerald Schimpf (Austria/Österreich)

Member Nations: Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark,  France, Germany, Hungary, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland

Languages: This commission operates in German and English.

Starting Year: 1998

Operational Procedures: One yearly meeting in October.

Way of communication: E-mail:  Contact Gerald Schimpf

For a list of official CTIF Museums and Collections, click here


The objectives of our Commission are:

  • Assistance in the preparation of the fire brigade history in general and in special cases (thematic) for the members of the CTIF coordination.
  • Certification of fire brigade museums, show collections, traditional rooms and archives. This should be a quality feature for the respective fire brigade museums and at the same time make CTIF known.
  • Classification of fire brigade vehicles. This should be a quality feature for the respective fire brigade and their vehicle and at the same time make the CTIF known.
  • Advising the fire brigades and associations in matters of fire brigade history and archiving.
  • Administration of the CTIF Museum in Pribyslav with local museum staff
  • Organization of an annual committee meeting


Products of the Commission:
1. Guidelines for certification of fire brigade museums
2. Guidelines for classification of historic fire trucks

Delegates of the member countries:
▪ Baumann Heinz - Switzerland
▪ Berki Imre - Hungary - Chairman Deputy
▪ Fastl Christian K. - Austria
▪ Gajdek Gjuro - Croatia
▪ Janeba Lubomir - Czech Republic
▪ Jannsen John - Denmark
▪ Juncker Patrick - Luxembourg

▪ Killen William - USA
▪ Koutri Alexandra-Ioanna - Greece
▪ Naiden Tatiana - Russia
▪ Patek Jiri - Czech Republic
▪ Ronec Peter - Slovakia
▪ Schamberger Rolf - Germany
▪ Schmauch Jean-Francois - France

▪ Schmit Frank - Luxembourg
▪ Scorynina Nina - Russia
▪ Slaughter Rodney - USA
▪ Soares Jaime - Portugal
▪ Tomat Viljem - Slovenia

▪ Tsilogianni Eleftheria - Greece
▪ Van Haasteren Bianca - Netherlands

Honorary members of the CTIF and the Commission:
▪ Farrenkopf Dieter - Germany - Honorary Chairman
▪ Schinnerl Adolf- Austria - Honorary Chairman

Section for the classification of historical fire-fighting vehicles according to the CTIF regulations:
▪ Juncker Patrick - Luxembourg - Head of the group

Section for certification of fire brigade museums and collections according to CTIF regulations:
▪ Knaß-Roßmann Katrin - Austria - Head of the group

International Association for Fire and Fire History in CTIF:
▪ Valentini Ingo - Austria - Chairman
▪ B
árta Stanislav - Czech Republic - Chairman Deputy

This is an open community that works on various topics in this area. Anyone interested can participate. This working group acts on behalf of the CTIF Commission History.

A conference volume on the respective topics will be published.

Members of the History Commission and the International Study Group

Members of the History Commission and the International Study Group